thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Diet Tips and Recipes May 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 3:19 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m excited! My dad is getting me the Magic Bullet tonight. This will help because once I am into Stage 4 of my diet (mushy semi-liquid food), I will need to blend and mix and dilute lots of things. The key is to only eat things that are runny enough to slide off the back of a spoon.

My favorite part, though, is the juicer attachment (which I have to buy separately but it’s only like $15 new on eBay).  I’ve always wanted a juicer.

Anyway, I’ve come across a few recipes recently that I’m dying to try (although can’t right now during this stage of my diet), and thought I’d share.

One-Ingredient Ice Cream:

I’m allergic to bananas but I’ve read this can also be done with peaches, which I’m eager to try.

Fresh Fruit Popsicles:

Of course if you’re feeling particularly lazy, just stick a popsicle stick into a yogurt container and freeze, or, in lieu of a stick, just throw the yogurt container into the freezer then eat it with a spoon. Can’t get much easier than that!

Unfortunately I can’t enjoy any of these delicious looking recipes yet. In the meantime, I’m mainly trying to curb my hunger. I’m finding that naps are a BAD idea because of how my meals are spread over 16 hours. If  I miss a portion of that, I don’t have the opportunity to finish my 48-64 ounces for the day, and if I wake up starving, then it’s a slow recovery. I’ve also been really exhausted since I started this diet, probably because of my utter lack of iron. A friend told me about Spirulina, a supplement that is rich in nutrients I need. I can’t take pills for the next three weeks but I am planning to buy it in powder form, hopefully it will help give me more energy. I’m also not exercising much this week, I’m just too tired, and I figure, since I’m eating less than 500 calories a day, it’s okay if I skip it for a week and resume next week.

I’ve found a few tips to help me resist cheating on my diet, even a little. A lot of tips I’m finding involve things I can’t do right now, like drinking lots of water or eating different foods and so on. The one thing that’s helping me the most, though, is brushing my teeth. When I brush my teeth, even if I’m hungry, I’m not tempted to eat, because I know how icky it will taste. So this diet has even more benefits: squeaky clean teeth!

 

Leave a Reply

