thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Eating For Energy Instead of Hunger May 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 12:34 AM

It’s funny how unpredictable this diet has been. I thought the biggest challenge would be hunger pains. I’m barely having those at all. In fact, I’m finding myself not very hungry at all most of the time, to the point where I have maybe one protein shake and a half a smoothie or half cup of soup a day. I’m taking in maybe 30 ounces, I think.

At first I was trying to only eat when I’m hungry, but after a few days of consuming very, very few calories, I’ve decided it would be a good idea to add a little more. I may not be hungry but I can tell when I haven’t eaten enough because I start to feel lethargic again, so I think when that happens I’ll sip at a protein drink, even if I’m not hungry, until I feel better. I’m still only consuming around 500 calories a day, and now that I’m also consuming enough to keep my energy up, I’m feeling outstanding.

I haven’t been exercising a whole lot since I’ve been on the liquid diet, because I’ve been taking in so few calories, and I’m still trying to find the right balance of hunger and energy satiation. Luckily, I’ve still lost 11.5 pounds, and if I can lose just half a pound more by the end of the day, that will make it an average of four pounds per week that I’ve been losing since I started my diet three weeks ago.

I’m also about half way to my first weight loss goal. I’m setting mini-goals for myself: losing 10% of my weight at a time. This way I won’t have to look at my overall goal and think, “Ugh, I’m so far away, I’ll never get there.” It will be easier to achieve mini-goals, especially since they get smaller and smaller as time goes on, they’ll seem more attainable and I’ll really feel the progress I’m making.

I got a fat-people yoga video and I’m going to start doing that regularly, perhaps daily if I can motivate myself to do it. Yoga seems very relaxing so I can imagine that being beneficial on multiple levels.

I need to get a yoga mat!

 

Leave a Reply

