thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

I’ve Discovered the Secret to Weightloss May 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 10:22 PM

I think I discovered magic. Literal fairy magic.

Kale chips.

I’ve never even eaten kale before. I saw someone mention this recently and figured it was worth a shot. Oh my god. So worth it.

The wonder if these things is you can eat them all day. Literally, all day, every day. You can eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, because, although you may not admit it to yourself, you’re eating a vegetable. And I don’t mean eating a vegetable like eating french fries is eating a vegetable. I mean actually eating a leafy green good-for-you vegetable. A POUND of kale has 34 calories and less than a gram of fat. And it doesn’t shrink like spinach does, so a handful of raw kale is a handful of kale chips. No trickery.

I made the first batch with no salt or seasonings whatsoever, just light cooking spray. When I did a taste test after I pulled them out of the oven, I blinked and realized I had eaten the whole batch before I even got the second oven mitt off. Oh my gosh. This is the perfect snacking food. They’re so delightfully, perfectly crispy, you think you’re eating junk food but you’re not.

What you’ll need:

– However much kale you want (I think I have about a pound) ripped into chunks about an inch big, spine not included.

– Light cooking spray

– Salt or seasonings if desired

Spray the cookie sheet lightly, lay the kale out, spray the kale lightly, then stir a bit with a spatula to coat. Season if you like. Bake at 275 for about 15 minutes (although I’ve heard overcooking can happen really easily, so try 10 minutes, eat one, if it doesn’t quite feel done another five minutes, repeat until perfect).

On the second batch I seasoned very lightly with Lawry’s. It turned out to be overkill. I’m going to enjoy these plain.

Even baby Vincent ate the crap out of these!

The pictures can’t ever do it justice, because you can’t see how crispity crunchity they are.

ImageImage

 

One Response to “I’ve Discovered the Secret to Weightloss”

  1. […] On the shopping list: fat free milk, fat free cottage cheese, lots and lots and lots of kale for kale chips, and plenty of fruit. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

