thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Avocado Peach Smoothie May 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 9:06 AM

This is a completely new creation. I love avocados, but I’ve never had them in anything sweet before, but after years of hearing about things like avocado frosting, avocado pudding and avocado ice cream, I knew I had to try something. It seemed too awesomely weird not to. So after looking up several recipes to find the right one, I did what I usually do: threw crap together and hoped for the best. I don’t know if I’d call this the “best,” but it is pretty close.

This was, like most things I make, purely experimental. The only reason I used peach yogurt was because it’s what I had. I’d have preferred to use vanilla, and may try that next time. Other flavors may go well with this too. I considered using my standard go-to food, cottage cheese, but decided that in this recipe I wanted avocado to be the flavor that stands out the most and I didn’t want anything to overpower it.

It’s really filling. In fact, so filling, I’m going to say it makes two servings. Since the smoothies I make are intended to be full meals, not snacks or desserts, this is a plus. It wasn’t quite cold enough for my taste, though, but I didn’t think ice would be a good addition. Next time, I’ll probably do something like make milk ice cubes, or throw the yogurt in the freezer for a while first, to make a nice, refreshing, ice-cold smoothie. It was still good though.

– 1 ripe avocado

– 2 tablespoons honey

– 1 (6 oz) container of low fat peach yogurt

– 1 cup fat free milk

– 2 tablespoons vanilla

Scoop out the avocado meat and blend it together with the other ingredients until well combined.

300 calories per serving.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

