thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Wednesday Weigh-In May 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 12:01 AM

Starting weight: 316

Last week’s weight: 306

Today’s weight: 306

I could kick myself for there not being any progress this week. I blame myself fully. Failing to plan is planning to fail, and I didn’t do any of the grocery shopping I needed to do to have the right foods in the house, so when it came down to it, I ended up eating not the worst things in the world, but not the best either. A bowl of cereal, 2% milk instead of fat free, some pasta, veggie burger patties (sans bun, because I’m avoiding bread like the plague), etc. It’s been a one-day-on, one-day-off kind of diet this week and I’m at least grateful that I didn’t gain weight (although I did yo-yo a little), but I’ll definitely have to kick it up a notch if I want to see more progress.

I’ve been incredibly sore. Weather changes always do this to my back. I’ve decided to once and for all start getting my back in good working order again, and started seeing a chiropractor this week. I think I will be seeing him weekly or every other week, we’ll see what happens. For anyone in the Long Beach area looking for a chiropractor, Bob the Chiropractor is so awesome. He charges $45 for the initial visit, then $25 for each visit after that, which is even less than a copay on my insurance (he doesn’t take insurance, though, that’s just his flat rate). He’s really, really friendly, and very thorough, and doesn’t pressure people. He gave me tips on what to do at home to start getting my back better even if I choose not to see him again, which I was grateful for.

I’ve also been experimenting with protein shakes because, frankly, they’re getting boring. Throwing a handful of granola or a little uncooked powdered oatmeal helps fill me up longer. I’ve also heard about putting nuts in it, but I haven’t really tried that and I’m not sure I will, the idea doesn’t sound all that appealing.

I’m going to go shopping tomorrow, and start planning again, so I can stop failing. On the shopping list: fat free milk, fat free cottage cheese, lots and lots and lots of kale for kale chips, and plenty of fruit.

 

Leave a Reply

