thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

“Chicken” Salad June 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 6:16 AM

Before I start, you should know two things:

1) I am the master of half-assing all my homemade recipes. More often than not I use dry seasonings, canned or frozen ingredients, etc., instead of bothering with fresh ones (although I do tend to have a lot of fresh fruit on hand usually).

2) This was doubly half-assed because I usually put a little more effort into my “chicken” salad, being one of my favorite dishes that I don’t often indulge in. But I wanted a quick dinner. I will probably make a better version tomorrow, so stay tuned if you’re interested.

In the meantime:

– 1 Quorn Naked Chik’n Cutlet, cut into chunks

– 1 tsp dried parsley flakes

– 1 tbsp Italian Seasoning

– 1 tsp kelp powder

– 1 tsp dried chopped onion

– 2 tbsp nonfat plain Greek yogurt

– 1 tbsp low fat mayonnaise

– 1 tbsp Dijon mustard

– 4-5 red grapes

– vegetable oil or Pam for cooking

Mix all dry seasonings and oil in pan. Cook cutlet on medium heat until lightly brown around the edges and thoroughly warm, coating with seasonings and oil.

Add contents of pan to food processor along with grapes, yogurt, mustard, and mayonnaise, and process to desired consistency.

Again, this is my half-assed version. Use fresh seasonings if you have them. I also like adding a little spinach, a half a slice of apple, avocado, or some toasted nuts (cashews are my favorite in this recipe).

This is great alone, on lettuce, as a sandwich, with chips, or as a veggie dip. This one was great because the kelp powder really helped to satisfy a seafood craving I’ve been having lately.

This is also a low-guilt meal to enjoy, punching in at 114 calories per serving.

Image

 

4 Responses to ““Chicken” Salad”

  1. Grant McNaughton Says:

    That looks pretty damn good.

  2. Epic Sexy Latin Dude Says:

    Your blog once again posted twice and that looks like vomit, tasty vomit.


Leave a Reply

