thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Trying the ViSalus Shake June 28, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 3:58 AM

Today I tried the Body by Vi shake for the first time. I have the sweet cream flavor, which is delicious as ice cream so I had high expectations.

 

I mixed two scoops of the powder (which was probably about equal to a regular scoop of protein powder) with a cup of 2% milk and a cup of frozen berries (strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries). Honestly it’s not bad. If anything I’d say it’s a little sweet but it’s great with the tart berries. It reminds me of the Sinless Sans-Fat Sweet Cream ice cream mixed with raspberries that I get from Coldstone.

 

Now I used 2% because it’s what I have, I plan on switching to fat free tomorrow but the grocery store was out today. Assuming you use fat free milk, nutritionally speaking, one shake has 260 calories, 14g of sugar, 1g of fat and 21g of protein. That’s really not bad for a meal. If I were to use my normal protein shake in place of the Vi powder, we’d be looking at 310 calories, 15g sugar, 2g fat, and 26g of protein. The protein shake would have more protein but more calories, so I guess if you’re exercising more, the protein shake would be good, if you’re not exercising as much, the Vi shake is good.

 

I feel obligated to ¬†mention, this protein shake I use normally is something I use because it’s inexpensive (about $15 for a 2lb container at Walmart) while still being pretty good for you. Another brand I use which is a little more costly is Designer Whey, which is practically the same as the Vi powder nutritionally. You can find it at Trader Joe’s for about $12 for a 12oz container. Body By Vi seems to mainly be sold through independent consultants so it’s hard to get a definite price. Additionally, it’s also often sold in “kits” which include a variety of other things along with the shake powder. However, based on a couple different websites I looked at, the average price seems to be about $99 for a month supply.

 

So for the thrifty dieter, you’re looking at the following prices (for powders alone, not for add-ins like fruit or milk):

Body By Vi: $1.65 per serving

Body Fortress: $0.63 per serving

Designer Whey: $1.00 per serving

Based on what I’ve seen, I wouldn’t say Body By Vi is really worth the money. However, since I already have my free sample I’m going to give it two weeks and see how well it works in comparison with two more weeks on my regular protein shake. If it really blows my mind then it’s worth the money. If not, I’m going to stick with what I’ve got.

 

Leave a Reply

