thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

An Ice-Cold Smoothie Without All That Pesky Ice July 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 10:00 PM

I finally did it!

I finally created the perfect berry smoothie!

I’m so happy I could cry.

I love my smoothies freezer cold, not just fridge cold, but that always means adding ice, and I hate watering down my smoothies. It doesn’t just affect the texture, but the flavor too. Ick.

Additionally, my favorite protein shakes are the fruit ones. The problem is I hate. hate. HATE seeds.

So I spent last week juicing pounds and pounds of raspberries, strawberries, and blackberries. It took forever because my crappy juicer doesn’t work super effectively, and it left a LOT of pulp in the first few times around, but after every juicing, I just strained out the liquid and re-juiced the pulp until I had as much as I was going to get from my juicer.

I like mixed berry juice so I just mixed all the juice together and put it in a tupperware container and put it in the freezer.

I also have frozen blueberries. They don’t need to be juiced because they’re perfect as they are.

So today I made my first delicious smoothie with this.

– 2 scoops Visalus powder

– 1 cup fat free milk

– 1/3 cup frozen blueberries

– 2/3 cup frozen berry juice

Blend together until delicious.

Image

Look, you can even see the condensation. That baby is COLD. And no seeds! None! (The spots you see are blueberry).

This meal shake contains 300 calories, 1g fat, 11g sugar, 21g protein.

 

A tip: I found that the juice, once frozen, was VERY difficult to scoop out, I had to microwave it for two whole minutes just to be able to dig a spoon in there. I don’t know what would be a better way to freeze this juice. Maybe ice cube trays? But I’d need a LOT of trays to freeze all this juice. Of course, you could always juice a tray or two full of berries, then freeze the rest of the berries and juice them later, but I really wanted to get all the juicing out of the way at once. Do what works for you.

 

Leave a Reply

