thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Vanilla Blueberry Compote July 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 11:32 PM

By now you all know how much I love berries. They’re wonderful. They go so well in everything: Protein shakes, smoothies, add them to pancakes or crepes for breakfast, throw them in some cottage cheese for lunch, blend frozen berries for a delicious sorbet for dessert, or eat them by themselves, fresh or frozen. They are the perfect variety of food. Definitely nature’s candy.

This is why I’m always looking for new ways to incorporate them into my diet. I actually came across this idea while working on perfecting a 100-calorie no-bake cheesecake (recipe tomorrow, once tested).

This compote is amazing. Put this on your ice cream, mix it into your yogurt, spread it on your toast, pour it on top of cheesecake, or heck, you could probably make a huge batch and pour it into a pie crust and I doubt anyone would complain.

This can be done with any berries. Use the same measurements, just swap out blueberries for your favorite berry or even try mixed berries!

This is a very easy recipe, and all you need is a few ingredients!

Image

– 1 cup blueberries

– 2 tbsp Splenda or your favorite Sweetener

– 4 tbsp water

– 2 tsp vanilla

– Squeeze of lemon

In a saucepan, bring 1/2 cup of blueberries and remaining ingredients to a boil over medium heat.

Image

Boil for ten minutes. This will create a very thick, lumpy sauce.

Add remaining 1/2 cup of blueberries, boil another 5 minutes. Remove from heat and cool.

I’ll be honest. I skipped the last step and put it right on my ice cream, which promptly melted. That’s okay, I stirred it into a delicious blueberry concoction.

Image

It tasted like candy. Definitely one of the best things I’ve ever made. I can’t wait to try this on cheesecake!

 

93 calories, 0.5g fat, 14g sugar

 

Leave a Reply

