thepolkadotrobot

My Weight Loss Journey

Sharing July 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Polka Dot Robot @ 5:14 AM

Okay, okay. I haven’t been posting enough. I guess when I fail I don’t want to publicize it, but the whole point of this blog is to make everything public, my accomplishments AND failures.

 

I’ve put on a few pounds again and I’m not proud of it. My diet went out the window completely for a short while. Every morning I’d say “today is the day!” and by every evening I was saying “Tomorrow’s the day!” I’d share all my excuses but you know them all, not by hearing them from me but by hearing them from yourselves, so I’ll spare you.

 

Today was the first day in a long time I did 100% well. I had cottage cheese and strawberries for breakfast, a protein shake for lunch, and now, just because I’m craving it, I’m having cottage cheese and strawberries again for dinner. I do loves me some cottage cheese.

 

My total calorie intake was 963, which I know isn’t technically bad but my goal is 800 a day, so I’m going to spend some time on my treadmill tonight to burn the excess off.

 

My old policy was, “Well, since I already ate a cookie my whole diet’s been shot for the day so I might as well splurge.” What a terrible policy.

 

My new policy is, “Well, I ate a cookie which might put me over my calorie limits but I’ll stick with my diet plan as normal and work off any extra calories before the end of the day.”

 

I’m debating counting calories by the week instead of by the day, if that makes sense. Some days I’m not doing anything all day and therefore not very hungry. Other days I’m running around expelling lots of energy and I’m starving with my calorie limit. I think it might be helpful to “borrow” calories from one day and put them into another. Then it would be easier to work off excess calories. For example, if someone brings pizza and cookies into work, and I eat some, I won’t have the energy to work out by the end of the day but I might have the energy to work out on my days off.

 

So basically, instead of allotting myself 800 calories a day, I’d be allotting myself 5,600 calories a week, rationed properly of course.

 

Any thoughts on this, whether it would be a good idea or bad idea, pros, cons, etc?

 

In the meantime, Wednesday Weigh-Ins WILL be back this week because no matter what happens, I’m sharing everything.

 

One Response to “Sharing”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I think you might be preventing your body from being able to lose weight because it is in starvation mode and you are consuming pretty far under your bmr. It might be beneficial to try an “abc” type calorie schedule to trick your metabolism. I think the lowest you should be going is 1000-1200. In an “abc” you would do something like this, 1300, 1200, 1000, basically fluctuating within reasonable limits to trick your metabolism. Also, I’m not sure how the ketones worked for you but the pills have been working fantastically for me. In a month (without much great diet or exercise) I’ve lost 10-15lbs. Regardless, I wish you the best of luck 🙂 I know you can do this


Leave a Reply

